Genesis Core 10 - Any Good?????

deangy
deangy Posts: 19
edited June 2011 in MTB buying advice
Hi,

Has anyone had any experience with the Genesis Core 10? Im in two minds wether to go for that or a Specialized Hard Rock Sport.

It'll be my first MTB and although Im a complete novice, I know that Specialized bikes are good quality but I know nothing about Genesis bikes!

Im going to be using it mostly for a 18 mile commute to work over some pretty rough road and the occassional light trial/off road riding, hence the reason why Im not wanting to break the bank!

Any opinions welcome.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    edited May 2011
    Post spoilt
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    The Core 10 cocks its leg up at the Hardrock Sport and has a good long wee.

But it does cost a lot more ;-)
  • deangy
    My LBS has them both at £480 and the Genesis was originally £600 so I reckon its better value for money for sure. Im swaying towards the Genesis I think. Might need a few more gentle nudges tho if anyone wants to help............
  • nebrog23
    nebrog23 Posts: 16
    Got a 2010 genesis core, really like it, very well built and comfortable. Pretty good spec too.
  • jt_intheuk
    jt_intheuk Posts: 146
    Go for the Core! Don't see many of them around, but they are good. I've got the 2010 Core 20.
    I've got Soul.
  • deangy
    Thanks for all your posts. I think its gonna be the Core. Ive been looking at it most of the afternoon and at £480 it seems like a bargain. Plus I suppose its a good base to start from and then upgrade as and when I need to.
  • MrChuck
    MrChuck Posts: 1,663
    Both good bikes, but neither of them the best for an 18 mile commute on the roads. I don't mean to sound patronising but are you sure an MTB is what you want?
  • deangy