Old Fox or new Rockshox?!

gleesonandrew
gleesonandrew Posts: 19
edited May 2011 in MTB buying advice
Hello, this is my first time on a forum...
and here's what brought me here:

I have recently purchased a new frame (on-one Lynskey 456Ti) on e-bay, and looking for a fork to go with it. I'm currently riding a 456 Summer Season with a Suntour epicon dialed to 130mm travel which works fine for me as the head angle is plenty slack as is.

With the Ti frame, the HA will be steeper which is my main reason for wanting a longer travel fork, to slacken it out a bit again. Other reasons are obviously to get a better fork which'll be more beefed up and in better nick than my old leaking, beaten up Suntour (the frame deserves better!-).

So, options:
I can pick up a Rockshox Sektor 150mm travel for around £340 new. The advantages here are obviously that it is a new fork, pretty light and not too shabby with 32mm stantions too. I would probably go for the Solo Air as not bothered to adjust travel on the move, with 15mm bolt through (means I can use my current wheel too).

Otherwise, on e-bay at the mo (ending 2moro!.. don't go buy it please!-) is a Fox 36 Van R with 160mm travel. This is obviously an even beefier fork, although 2nd hand and looks like must be 08/09' model. Not too sure on the weight differences, although I can only imagine it'll be quite a bit heavier with being much beefier. Might be more what I need though as I am 6'4 and weight just over 100kg. Has the technology, say for the Sektor, come a lot further though and is an old workhorse (which I imagine it'll be) be worth considering?...

As for prices, I imagine I'll be looking to bid up to the similar amount of what I'd pay for the Sektor. Would mean I'd need a new front hub for the 20mm axle too, so that's around £50 extra for a half descent one and a re-build (will be my first one!-)