Commuting........What do you eat just before you set off ?

adebikes
adebikes Posts: 10
edited June 2011 in Commuting chat
I was wondering what people eat before they set off totally regardless of how far they cycle?

(newbie here) (been cycling since the stabilisers came off....on and off over the years)
( must also join the chunky club)(what used to be a 2 hr ride will now probably take me 4hrs..turbo trainer in the garage should sort it out!!....now that ive removed the knobbly tyres for slicks.....rather quieter now! )

thanks all
adrian

Comments

• optimisticbiker
    optimisticbiker Posts: 1,657
    the question has been asked before...

personally - a bowl of porridge or some toast in the winter, a banana or two in the summer, about 20 - 30min before my 15mile commute.

Some reckon that 15miles isnt far enough to need food... but it works for me and then I have a snack at work. Then a banana 20min before the ride home...
    Invacare Spectra Plus electric wheelchair, max speed 4mph :cry:
  • nation
    nation Posts: 609
    Toast before my 5 mile commute.

Sometimes a banana and a nutri-grain bar or similar if I'm feeling lazy.
  • iPete
    iPete Posts: 6,076
    A banana for a 20 miler.
  • EKE_38BPM
    EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
    Welcome.
    Porridge and/or bananas is the answer you will get from many. Some others will say protein shakes. Some will say they don't need anything until they get to work.

Personally, I have porridge and/or fruit before I leave home and often a fry-up or more porridge when I get to work.
    You may find it wise to eat something a bit before you set off for home too.
    Don't forget to hydrate.
    FCN 3: Raleigh Record Ace fixie-to be resurrected sometime in the future
    FCN 4: Planet X Schmaffenschmack 2- workhorse
    FCN 9: B Twin Vitamin - winter commuter/loan bike for trainees

I'm hungry. I'm always hungry!
  • arthur_scrimshaw
    arthur_scrimshaw Posts: 2,596