Rockrider 8.1: 2010 or 2011

jeannot18
jeannot18 Posts: 720
edited May 2011 in MTB buying advice
I have ordered a 2010 model that I should pick up on Wednesday. I am paying £450 as it is a 2010 model. But after reading a few different posts I am wondering if I should go instead for the 2011 model. As far as I can see the main difference are:
Brakes: Avid Juicy 3 for 2010, Avid Exilir 3 for 2011
Fork Tora 100mm 302 coil for 2010, Rock Shox Recon 100mm for 2011

Shall I go ahead with the 2010 and save the £50 to spend on some accesories, or is the 2011 better equiped and worth spending that extra £50. Bearing in mind that I am new to MTB. Thanks
JC
Pédale ou crève
Specialized Elite Allez with 105
Rockrider 8.1 : )

Comments

• getonyourbike
    getonyourbike Posts: 2,648
    I'd go for the 2011 model straight away. The forks is better and has got poploc(both have tbf). Also, elixirs are better than juicys and there aren't as many problems with them either. If it was me, I'd spend the extra without a doubt.
  • piker
    piker Posts: 353
    I'd go for the 2011 model straight away. The forks is better and has got poploc(both have tbf). Also, elixirs are better than juicys and there aren't as many problems with them either. If it was me, I'd spend the extra without a doubt.

+1, I would regret not getting the better spec,also well worth the extra £50 in my opinion.
  • jeannot18
    piker wrote:

+1, I would regret not getting the better spec,also well worth the extra £50 in my opinion.

Point taken on board, the only thing is I don't know when they will have them on sale as I think they are trying to get rid of the 2010 model and I am not sure I don't want to wait too long for it :lol:
    I will give them a ring and see what is the waiting time for the 2011, thanks guys.
    JC
    Pédale ou crève
  • stardude
    stardude Posts: 255