Best Road Bike Under £500

rob777
rob777 Posts: 48
edited May 2011 in Road beginners
Hi there,

I'm looking for a fast road bike for under £500.

As I am new to road biking and so I thought I'd get your valuable opinions.

Thank you so much.

Rob

Comments

• kingrollo
    kingrollo Posts: 3,198
    the new decathlon range looks good at this price point
  • dmont
    dmont Posts: 74
    How about a Carerra from Halfords ?

Halfords may be crap but the Carerra race bikes get a very good write up and comments on this forum ( I also have one, very good bike ) you can get one at approx £350 and this will give you money left over for kit..
    Riding - Voodoo Bantu
  • danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    The Jamis Ventura seems to be getting good reviews, fair bit of kit for £449

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/jam ... e-ec025750
  • bobtbuilder
    bobtbuilder Posts: 1,537
    For that price, I would be looking at something secondhand. You can get some pretty good bikes at that price that way.
  • What size do you need? The specialized allez is a great bike and there are a few places with last years model on sale at 399. Absolute bargain
    Allez 16 - bad weather / turbo trainer
    Tarmac Expert SL3 - test colours
    Dogma 2 - ex Team Sky
  • Bill-87
    Bill-87 Posts: 155
    I don't necessarily agree with the "go for a second hand" bike, fair enough maybe some of them will be better specced but I went with personal preference. I went for a bike I liked the look of, it was down from £750 to what I think was £300, now I did choose it for price to start with but I liked the look aswell. If you have a frame that you like and never spent all that much then you've always got that room for improvement(and maybe some spare cash).

I'd check the classifieds on here if you want to go second hand, I always think it's better than ebay although there are bargains to be had.
  • taimur
    taimur Posts: 173
    Cannondale CAAD 8