which torque wrench ?

bertypreston
bertypreston Posts: 158
edited April 2011 in MTB buying advice
Im done with tightening things up and hoping that they are tight enough/not too tight, decided to dig deep and get my selofa proper tool.

had a look on google & ebay , theres loads under £25 , just dont know which is best suited to bicycle nut tightening.

can somebody please send me a link to an online seller (ebay is fine with me)

Cheers in advance.

Rob

Comments

• gtd.
    gtd. Posts: 626
    Norbar torque wrenches are good, Roebuck (Buck and Hickman) and Halfords (Professional) are re-branded norbars
    Mountain: Orange Patriot FR, SubZero & Evo2LE.
    Road: Tifosi Race Custom.
    Do it all bike: Surly Disc Trucker 700c/29er
  • had a look on website, firstly they are £69-£79 ! secondly if i were to spash out whats best 40-200Nm, 60-300Nm, or 8-60Nm ?

Ta
  • Rich9
    Rich9 Posts: 1,635
    I'm no expert but I'd have thought 8-60Nm. For example, stem bolts are only supposed to be tightened to 5Nm
    2014 Whyte T-129S
  • I went through the same search recently. About the only commonly available "affordable" torque wrench that goes low enough for bikes (should go from about 2NM to 20NM for 95% of bike jobs) is this one:

http://www.google.co.uk/products/catalo ... FUQ8wIwAg#

Or you could just learn by tightening til it snaps / strips threads / rounds the bolt - then that's too tight so dont do it again. If it falls off - that's too loose. ;)

##Edit: also available here a bit cheaper and with some reviews:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Torque-Wrench-M ... 862&sr=8-3

And I forgot to say it doesnt come with any hex bits etc. You'll ned 3/8 socket type bits for whatever you want to tighten - hopefully youll have these in your existing socket set.
  • crispi03
    crispi03 Posts: 1
    http://www.nashbar.com/bikes/SubCategor ... 334_202376

I use this tool frequently....it is not the best, nor the worst either....and I wrench on bikes for money.