Yay! As of today I am a cycle commuter.

Clare_M
Clare_M Posts: 68
edited May 2011 in Commuting chat
I finally did it and cycled the rather undulating 15 and a bit miles to work today. I must admit that I don't know why I didn't do it sooner as I didn't find it too stressful at all. Most of the journey is country roads through the occasional village, so not too many stop-starts. I only had to get up 15 minutes earlier than I normally would have done and got to my desk at the same time as driving.

I have a men's Specialized Allez Elite with SPD pedals. I've been cycling for a couple of years as a fitness thing really as my husband and I have lost a bit of weight recently. He started doing time trials last year through a friend and last week I did my first 10 miler, though I didn't do very well. I do think it's the taking part, well until I did again last night and took a minute off my time. It's now making me think I can do much better! :shock:

So I am a convert to commuting! Not sure if I'll be able to do it every day, but once or twice a week to start should do. I will think of the petrol I'm saving and the fact I can have cake whenever I want now ;)

Any tips will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Clare
I was a fatty, then I took up cycling and can now eat cake guilt free!

"Triples are for girls" My Husband, 2010. (Evidently not for this girl though!)

Comments

• Welcome, welcome. Now about this cake, any spare slices?
  • jonginge
    jonginge Posts: 5,945
    Welcome. Enjoy the riding.

Build up steadily and all will be well. The normal mantra is to increase time spent on exercise by 10% a week.

Short time trials are fun, especially at first when you set a PB every week :D
    FCN 2-4 "Shut up legs", Jens Voigt
    Planet-x Scott
    Rides
  • Paul E
    Paul E Posts: 2,052
    Someone say cake?
  • Clare_M