Folding Tourers

Jay dubbleU
Jay dubbleU Posts: 3,159
edited April 2011 in Tour & expedition
I am looking for a folding tourer that I can stick in the boot of the car or which will go in a suitcase on an aircraft - my short list is

Bike Friday New World Tourist

Airnimal Explorer

Dahon Speed TR

Anyone have experience of any of the above?

Comments

• ralex
    ralex Posts: 85
    No personal experience of folders but have a look here for photos of a couple who toured northern Argentina on Bike Fridays. They look up to the job.
  • GyatsoLa
    GyatsoLa Posts: 667
    If you don't need a fast fold, you can get a regular bike into a standard (as defined by airline regulations) suitcase using S&S couplers, so no need to restrict yourself too much.

Of your list, I've no personal experience, but I've met several people who travel on Bike Fridays and in most cases they love them. The exception is a couple I met in Ireland whose 2 week bike tour came to an abrupt halt because of the failure of a non-standard part - there were no suppliers available outside the States so they had no choice but to hire replacement bikes.
  • jc4lab
    jc4lab Posts: 554
    Im a brom,pton user and taske mine abroad a lot.(have several different bags).but for Airminal Ive seen a case specific for that purpose.Try Bicycle Doctor in Dickinson Road Manchester website who like Airminal. and use to have covers and bags
    http://www.bicycledoctor.co.uk/folders_airnimal.html

Seen many a folder packed into different cases on different forums throughout the years..Maybe look at AtoB forum and also the folding Society forum
    jc
  • andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856