Severe cramping and pacing

snickwell
snickwell Posts: 72
edited April 2011 in Road beginners
A rather strange way to make my first post, but here goes!

I've been cycling for 5 months 'properly' now and have begun upping my mileage gradually since January. I attempted by first '50 miler' yesterday and DID achieve it. However, in the last 10 miles, I began to suffer with severe cramps in my right calf. I had 500ml of energy drink and 750ml of water and ate one small slice of malt loaf about half way around.

What can I do to avoid this cramping again? Is it a case of fitness, or was I not hydrated enough, or take in enough energy? I feel totally fine today, but the whole muscle was crampy for the whole evening last night.

My second issue is my pacing. I set out with the intention of just doing 50 miles without worrying about speed, just so I could get around comfortable. However, I found myself pedalling a long at 19/20/21 mph without realising. Does anyone have tips on how to keep my pace down? Or am I being a bit stupid and that I should just carry on pedalling at the speed that is most natural for me? I just feel that when I go for my next target, I really should conserve energy as much as possible...

As an aside, is an average of 17mph over 50 miles solo any good? I'd love to join a club, but I don't know if I'd just drop out the back.... :oops:

Comments

• Rich Hcp
    Rich Hcp Posts: 1,355
    17 for a solo 50 is a pace I'd be very happy with.

Ride at the speed which is nateral/easy for you, if its 20mph one one part, then why worry?

The breeze is probably behind you at that point, so take advantage.

Things even out, they'll be a point where you are a little slower, but the average is ok.
    Richard

Giving it Large
  • Pretre
    Pretre Posts: 355
    Welcome to the forum.