Sleeping bag for a new camper

squeeler
squeeler Posts: 144
edited April 2011 in Tour & expedition
I'm after a sleeping bag for UK use in the spring / summer. I've no camping experience but have a yearning to get into it and have started on-line research in ernest.

I obviously want it as small and light as possible so it fits easily on the bike with my other kit but realistically I'm 6"2 and 15 stone so I think most 210cm lightweight ones may be a bit small?

Does this look like a decent entry level bag that will do me a few years until I'm experienced enough to know exactly what I'm after?
Vango Ultralite 200 Sleeping Bag
http://www.simplyhike.co.uk/products/Vango/Ultralite200SleepingBag-Bluejay.aspx

Any recommendations will be welcome.

Is buying a sleeping bag something I should really not do online, Am I best trying them out in a camping shop, if so any reccomendations in Lancashire?

Comments

• andymiller
    andymiller Posts: 2,856
    It seems reasonable to me - although slightly on the heavy side.I'd research other options as well eg Decathlon and SnugPak. Also might be worth checking ot what you might get if you spend a bit more.

It be wary of phrases like '2-3 season' and look at the comfort rating. This one is comfortable down to 8 degrees. Which should be OK for say late-April through to mid- October - although youmay need to wear your clothes if it gets chilly.

The only advantage I can see in not shopping online is if you are unsure what size to get. On the other hand if you have a decent shop near you ...
  • squeeler
    Thanks for the info, I'll check out Decathlon and Snugpak
  • al_yrpal
    al_yrpal Posts: 102
    I just got this one. http://www.decathlon.co.uk/EN/s5-ultral ... 118874592/ I think its just right for UK/normal European weather

Al
  • squeeler
    I looked at the decathlon one too but it's nearly twice the weight of the Vango one in the XL size, so not what I want to be lugging about if I can help it.