Drive Train Advice Please

armoureddrummer
armoureddrummer Posts: 145
edited April 2011 in The workshop
Hey fellow commuters,

I am faced with a dilemma. I am fairly new to the bike tinkering addiction. 2 years mountain biking on a stock bike and now commuting on 2 wheels but just getting the bug.

My project is a Trek 7300 hybrid. I am trying to lighten it a bit at a time.

So far I have installed a set of lightweight bullhorn bars, LX V-brake levers, carbon spacers and titanium stem (needed to drop from a 100 - and 80mm to accommodate reach on bars so why not?).

I am now looking to lighten wheels and drivetrain.

I anyone has 700c wheels which are nice and light that will take tyres in the 700x38 ish size, let me know.

Anyhoo - Drivetrain:

Current drivetrain is Shimano Alivio so anything is probably an improvement.

I am going to buy parts a bit at a time over the next while so I need some direction. SRAM Powerglide II PG970 cassettes on CRC are currently reduced heavily which has caught my eye. From research, it appears that I can pretty well use SRAM accross the board but cable pull is an issue if shifters and der's don't match.

For info, I am using old retro shimano sis friction shifters to allow me to get them into the position I want them on my bullhorns.

Here are my questions:
1 - Can Shimano Der's be used with SRAM cassettes/Chainsets?
2 - Can I change cassette and chain to SRAM and continue using Shimano Chainset?
2.5 - Cranksets seem to be available from a lot of different manufacturers - if they suit 9 speed are they all compatible?
3 - Will the lack of indexing in my friction shifters allow enough movement within their limits to get the full range required for SRAM Der's?
4 - If anyone is familiar with component weights between shimano and SRAM, can you please advise which SRAM component ranges are lighter and in what order?

My plan:

1 - Cassette, Freehub body, chain
2 - Crankset & BB
3 - Wheels
4 - Der's