KMC 10 Speed Chain Links - Any good?

juankerr
juankerr Posts: 1,099
edited April 2011 in Workshop
As per the subject, are these any good? I've been using the 8 speed & 9 speed SRAM ones for a few years and really rate them, but know the 10 speed SRAM ones are for one time fixes, good for a road-side repair but not so good for chain removal for cleaning.

I've just found out that these KMC ones exist and come in Campy/Shimano flavours.

So, do they work well for removal/re-joining? I've got a Shimano 10sp chain.

Comments

• SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    The KMC ones are perfect for removal/re-joining. I use KMC chains and they come with the chain links, fairly easy to remove them for deeper chain cleaning.

I have never had any issues with them.
  • Bobbinogs
    Bobbinogs Posts: 4,841
    I guess this is kind of related but not really. I had a KMC Missing Link for my 9 speed simply fall apart when changing gear the other week. No real stress on the gears, just a gentle incline. Luckily I had a spare in my bag (also had a chain tool as plan b) but I was disappointed that it just seemed to fail so easily. I heard a crunch and clang and looked back to see my chain about 5 yards behind me on the road.

So, they are good but not infallible. I do use them (the 10sp ones) on my KMC X10L chain and they have been fine on that. I did read somewhere that the 10sp ones are not supposed to be reusable (or may be that is just the SRAM ones?) but I have split and rejoined it on the odd occassion without problems (although it does take the Park chain pliers to do this).
  • alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    SRAM "Powerlock" 10 speed ones are single use; KMC 10 speed are reusable. I always carry a spare, plus shimano pins and a chain tool, just to be safe. Never had a KMC link fail yet though (I have them on 5 bikes including mtb and commuter bikes, on 8,9 and 10 speed chains).
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123