any Rides in and around leamington spa

moshelle
moshelle Posts: 5
edited April 2011 in Routes
Fairly new to the mtb thing, just wanted to know if there are any decent rides in and around the leamington spa area

Shel
anyone know the nutritional value of a fly??

Comments

• yer, there is lods of rides arround Leam, southam, etc. what sort of places and distance you looking to do...? Danny
    Hi all, new to the forum, I live in Stockton (Warwickshire) and even though I have a few riding buddies I am always looking for other people to go out riding with or even talking " nuts & bolts" guys or girls!!!...
  • I'm a complete newbie, riding again after a 20 year rest from cycling. :D

I live in Ryton and have done the councils 'MTB route' from Ryton Pools a few times which has a mix of bridleways, quiet roads and a few muddy paths taking in Wappenbury, Eathorpe, Hunningham, Marton, Frankton, Bourton and Stretton. Approx 16 miles plus a couple from my front door to the Pools and back. I also had a go at the disused railway from Hunningham Hill, Offchurch Greenway to the viaduct at the Grand Union. Along the canal towpath towards Long Itch then back up the disused railway to Hunningham.
    There is a part of the disused railway that has been dug up by motorbikes and is very muddy in places. My first time through there I got thrown off and a face full of mud as a reward!
    I 'm working on getting a bit fitter and then i'll be investing in a rack for the car so I can go further afield. Cannock FTD is on my list of rides 'to do'
    Custom FS built around a Mongoose Otero frame
    CUBE Ltd Race
  • Welcome Moshelle, There's a good network of towpaths around this area and as Nigel_Ash mentioned the disused railway is great fun although extremely muddy!

Had good fun riding up & down the ditch in the wood next to the Diners cafe in Long Itch this morning too.
  • NIGEL_ASH wrote:
    I'm a complete newbie, riding again after a 20 year rest from cycling. :D