700c disc wheels

oodboo
oodboo Posts: 2,171
edited April 2011 in The workshop
Just snapped a spoke on the way home. I'm going to get this one fixed and see if I can get a couple of spare spokes as one tends to lead to another for me until I replace the wheel. So with a view to replacing the wheel in the not too distant future does anyone know of any good, strong 700c wheels that take disc brakes?

Would a custom build be a better idea? If so what's a good strong rim for a 16 stone rider loaded up with about a 15kg backpack?

I'm pretty new to this skinny tyred world as all previous bikes have been 26" wheeled mtbs so any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava

Comments

• marksteven
    marksteven Posts: 208
    Hello mate i run 700c on my alfine bike disced up im on open pro rims im about your weight + a bit im lucky that my best mate is harry rowland the wheel biulder , i did end to end with fully loaded bike on a pair of his open pros a few years back. & coz its disc they wont wear :D
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    For tough '700c' disc wheels, just get 29er MTB wheels with narrow enough rims for the tyre siz you intend to use.

Simon
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • Blue Meanie
    Blue Meanie Posts: 495
    If you're popping spokes probably best to buy a spoke key and learn about tension.

+1 for Open Pros, take a lot of punishment and are a joy to build (double eyelets)
    FCN16 - 1970 BSA Wayfarer

FCN4 - Fixie Inc
  • oodboo
    oodboo Posts: 2,171
    See my previous thread about maintenance:
    http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12766737

My enduro gets all my tlc.

I just want something to fit and forget
    I love horses, best of all the animals. I love horses, they're my friends.

Strava