A Bib of a quandry

One Man And His Bike
edited April 2011 in The bottom bracket
More to do with the pad actually I guess...

OK, as some will know or others don't, I've got a fairly large ride coming up in a few months, no drama there, it's going to take some hard work and lot's of effort but I'm quietly confident. I'm taking things one step at a time and trying to eliminate potential issues on the horizon as and when I can.

Currently I need to focus on placating my arse and inner thighs, as the increase in required mileage is going to hurt regardless because it's a lot of miles day after day to get to the target distance to complete the challenge, this is to be honest the one area I am worried things can go pear shaped fast and without me being able to do much about it.

I've lost 2 and a half stone since I started riding last year and it's now without doubt starting to show and is being reflected in the fit of some shorts, especially the pad area. This is good news though, well sort of, it's great for my self confidence and all that but it means I need to start replacing clothing instead of investing in bike upgrades again for a while.

So, I've been upping my miles and going through the bib shorts I have to see which ones are comfortable beyond my usual 50 mile regular ride zone and as expected the cheap Chinese fake bib shorts are launched out the back of the pack and are no good, they've earned their place in my affection for allowing me to get to where I am and are still going strong but they are not comfortable for long distances or prolonged hours on the bike. Credit where it is due, they have done a serious amount of miles and lasted but the end is nigh as I push beyond the distance they are capable of.