Vitamins and supplements

Majoony2
Majoony2 Posts: 2
edited March 2011 in Road beginners
While I'm not new to cycling itself, I am new to training for a big ride. I have a London to Paris coming up in September and want to make sure I'm in the best shape possible.

I had an injury a few years back - nothing serious but came off in the ice and slammed my right knee, was out for a few weeks and then had to wear a support on it after that for about 8 months. I've not worn it for some time now but recall back in the summer, going for longer rides, it tends to ache after a while.

As I said I am cycling to Paris over 4 days (under 100 miles per day) and want to know if there are any supplements that can be taken for muscle recovery or joint lubrication while I'm training as I'm going to be getting a lot of miles in my legs.

Can anyone reccommend anything?
Thanking you in advance. :)

Comments

• andyjr
    andyjr Posts: 635
    Cod liver oil/fish oil for joints.
    Also glucosamine & chronditin might be useful
  • upperoilcan
    upperoilcan Posts: 1,180
    Cervelo S5 Ultegra Di2.
  • brin
    brin Posts: 1,122
    There are numerous vitamins/supplements on the market,have a word with your pharmacist - just avoid Spanish beef :wink:
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    A good old healthy diet with plenty of fruit and veg and oily fish is all you need. You'll probably get enough protein form your normal food, but if not then some whey protein recovery shakes may be beneficial.
    More problems but still living....
  • Mister W
    Mister W Posts: 791
    Glucosamine and chronditin have been shown to reduce pain if you're suffering from arthritis. Otherwise they're a waste of money. Spend your cash on a good diet, exactly as amaferanga suggests.
  • Crapaud
    Crapaud Posts: 2,483
    amaferanga wrote: