Newbie checking in and looking for advice

Garett
Garett Posts: 29
edited April 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi guys,
Im new to these parts and have been getting into biking again recently, I had a BMX a few years ago but was never really very good on it! Now I'm a bit older Im after a mountain bike. I bought a hybrid as a stop gap last summer because it was cheap nad I wasn't really doing much off road.
I went camping in Grizedale last August and took it around there which it managed but it wasn't ideal and doing that a lot won't do it much good! I want to do a bit more off road so have been looking at getting a proper mountain bike, I've been looking 2nd hand for less than £200 on ebay mainly at things like Trek and Specialized and can probably get something semi decent that's a few years old.

I've seen a Carrera Kraken which I've heard good things about for the price, the only thing putting me off it is that it has mechanical disc brakes as opposed to hydraulic which I hear can be fiddly and need constant attention but in all honesty I don't know a great deal about them and can't find much in any of the buyers guides relating specifically to mechanical disc brakes. Can anyone offer any advice?

Also have a look at my wanted post if you have something you think might suit me. http://www.bikeradar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12767273

Cheers :D

Comments

• A good set of mechanical disc brakes will be much better than a bad set of hydraulics.

Plus, if you find you dont get along with them, you can always upgrade to hydraulics at a later date.

The Kraken is a good bike for the money though. Far better than any of the similar priced offerings from the big names.
  • Richtea70
    Richtea70 Posts: 107
    Garrett,

Depending on how old the Kracken is it may have hydraulic brakes? I bought a second hand Kracken last year for £200 and it was a 2010 model with hydraulics.