Advice regards Shoes/Cleats/Pedals for first bike

EightOhEight
EightOhEight Posts: 170
edited March 2011 in Road beginners
I'm getting a Trek 1.5 or 2.1 as my first road bike.
I need to choose Shoes/Cleats/Pedals now... total noob regards this please help. What are the priorites? budget is limited.. Should I spend as much as I can on the shoes and upgrade the pedals/Cleats when finances allow? Look? SPD? what will it be? What do you use?
Thanks

Comments

• Buckled_Rims
    Buckled_Rims Posts: 1,648
    Well virtually every rider will have their own ideas and combinations that work for them, so the answer will be just as confusing as the problem :shock:

For a beginner I would go SPD with the M520 pedal, it's dual sided so you don't need to think too hard about clipping in. SPD shoes are far easier to walk in and some look like trainers so you wont get funny looks.
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • mattsaw
    mattsaw Posts: 907
    +1 for the M520s

I started off commuting with some Look Keo road pedals and found it really difficult with the amount of clipping in and out I was doing, especially on hill starts at lights. Once I moved over to some MTB shoes, multi-release cleats and 520s I haven't looked back. They are also 100% better than flats or clips.
    Bianchi C2C - Ritte Bosberg - Cervelo R3
    Strava
  • springtide9
    springtide9 Posts: 1,731
    I have been using SPD MTB cleats since Xmas but have switched to SPD SL with no regrets (after being a bit anti 'not having to have two pairs of shoes').

Clipping in with SPD (MTB) cleats is easier than with the single sided road version, but still very easy. Unless you also have an MTB, I don't see much advantage. I personally don't really find then any harder to walk in than SPDs.

Dare I say it but have to admit; I prefer the reduced float that the SPD SL offer, larger contact area as well as my shoes are stiffer (although it could be that my MTB shoes are not very stiff).