Food before rides

Jordan93
Jordan93 Posts: 336
edited March 2011 in Road beginners
After some reading I have found that for any competitive event it is best to eat a high carb meal 2-4 hours beforehand because low GI foods such as pasta take between 3-4 hours to be absorbed. For example around 4 hours before my ride I had around 150g(uncooked weight) of pasta. After this meal, I only took on liquids. This was either water or a sports drink. I found that upon starting the ride I felt abit lethargic and my legs felt a wee bit like jelly. After awhile I didn't feel as bad but still didnt feel very lively.

Is this due to the fact I ate too soon before the ride?

Comments

• Dmak
    Dmak Posts: 445
    I'm new to this too.

I had a pot of ready made pasta this morning before setting out into the glorious sunshine for 90 miles and 4k of ascent. There were quite a few speed bumps! or hills as most people call them.

It helps to load up on carbs the day before too. Also you need food along the way, bananas, flapjacks and a moderate dose of caffeine can help. PowerGels n all, does anyone know if there is a problem with using pro-plus during a ride instead of the pricey PowerGels? They're not that expensive per unit but it seems like an expense that could really add up.

This link is source of fairly good info.

http://www.road-bike.co.uk/articles/cycling-food.php

Eating 4 hours before riding is not too soon. Eat too much too soon and cycling becomes hell.
  • Jordan93
    Jordan93 Posts: 336