Double Chainring and hills..

badflaw
badflaw Posts: 32
Hello I am training for the Delottie ride of britain (1000 miles ,9 Days) Just bought my first road bike with double chain ring and struggling up hills over 10 percent.

Im 29,10.5 stone, 5ft 11-ride a compact chainset 34t f 25 t back lowest gear. Im new to this road malarky, but normal go mountain biking and 20 mile runs a couple of times a week so im used to using the granny ring at high cadance!

In road trainiing Ive been riding 50 miles at about 14 miles an hour.(click link for a log of my ride with altitude -http://www.endomondo.com/workouts/keyu0SrnztI

Ive been struggling on steeper hills havign to stand to keep the pedals turning ive even had to walk up some - something i would never , ever do on my mountian bike) I struggle on anything more than ten percent ( I can stay seated on a 12percent though im at a very low cadence and it doesnt feel right)
I wonder if I should drop the size of the middle ring to enable me to ride long distances (bearing in mind the event im training to do) or wether I should do some specific training to overcome the problem?

Regards

Comments

• emx
    emx Posts: 164
    badflaw wrote:
    or wether I should do some specific training to overcome the problem?

correct...
  • shmo
    shmo Posts: 321
    Putting a 12-27 or 28 cassette on the back would help make the gearing a bit more comfortable, but might not make a huge difference.

That'd be the easiest thing to change anyway.
  • amaferanga
    amaferanga Posts: 6,789
    I hope you've been doing more miles than you've got logged on Edmondo :wink:

Think you just need to stick at it. If you're not comfortable standing up on hills then keep doing it and it will get easier. If you have a compact chainset (34/50) then you could only change down to a 33 anyway and that'd give you an even more unpleasant jump between chainrings.
    More problems but still living....