bike build

boydmtbrider
boydmtbrider Posts: 31
edited March 2011 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi im new to mtb and have a carrera lx hard tail frame that i wish to build a bike with, thing is i aint got a clue what i need so suggestions welcome.Im not looking to build a seriously expensive bike just a bike that can handle a bit of rough terrain yet still comfortable on the road.I need everything as i have a bare frame and like a challenge so what do you suggest?

Comments

• I Personaly think its better to buy a half deacent bike first, enjoy riding it, discover your riding style, ad what you enjoy most, get to know your bike, service it, learn a few things, then see if its realy for you. Thats only my oppinion.
  • i have a saracen raw2 that i ride daily and the carrera frame was a friends that he was throwing away and decided to have ago at building my own bike.I tend to mod cars and restore motorbike but that got really expensive and need alittle project to keep me busy.
  • Atz
    Atz Posts: 1,383
    Why not swap the parts from the Saracen over to start with?
  • because i plan to sell one of them once i have finshed and defeats the object of building one.The problem is there are so many different parts for mtb bikes its hard to know whats good and whats rubbish!
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    'Good' parts and you'll end up spending thousands.
    Suggest you make a list of what you need (everything) and start checking the classifieds and Ebay.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • thats why i need people to suggest what i should get ie which brands and models to build a half decent bike.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Good luck with that.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • supafly1982
    supafly1982 Posts: 631