Cleaning it.

Wobblehead
Wobblehead Posts: 264
edited March 2011 in MTB beginners
New to this mtb lark, been road biking in the summer (mostly dry days) for a few years.

Only been out a few times but getting totally cacked up everytime :D

It's a pain in the backside cleaning my new shiny bike after EVERY ride, is this normal, or is once week OK

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Yes
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • I suggest you clean it 1/2 way through your ride, and then again when you get home. Also clean it before you go for a ride just in case :wink:
  • I'm new to this too and have forced myself to take the time to clean my bike after each ride. Was tough on sunday when after a day in the mud I got caught in a little hail storm. Got to the car and got home, first thing to be done as sort the bike out!
    It's just habit now and I'm learning a lot more about how the bike works etc
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    Don't get me started on cleaning...
  • paulbox
    paulbox Posts: 1,203
    If you hose it off when it is still wet it makes it a lot easier!

I'd say that you don't have to go mad after every ride, just make sure you clear the majority and the drive train, then make sure that get dry and lubricated to kep everything running nice & smooth... 8)
    XC: Giant Anthem X
    Fun: Yeti SB66
    Road: Litespeed C1, Cannondale Supersix Evo, Cervelo R5
    Trainer: Bianchi via Nirone
    Hack: GT hardtail with Schwalbe City Jets
  • Clark3y
    Clark3y Posts: 129
    Half way through a ride isn't that crazy, the other day I did just that. Chain was crunching and grinding something chronic, quick wash under a waterfall and all is well.
  • paulbox
    paulbox Posts: 1,203
    Lol, my mate used his camelbak to clear his rear mech a couple of weeks ago.
    XC: Giant Anthem X
    Fun: Yeti SB66
    Road: Litespeed C1, Cannondale Supersix Evo, Cervelo R5