Elixir R pad retention bolt clip

rtorbs
rtorbs Posts: 94
edited February 2011 in MTB beginners
Hi all,

I've just got my bike back from my LBS after having an initial service as it was originally built by halfords and ive noticed that the rear pad retention bolt clip (if thats what you call it?) is missing....im kinda pissed cos the rear caliper got replaced under warrenty as it was defective so I know its just been left off.....

Ive checked to see if you get another with replacement pads but you just get the springy bit that holds the pads in i think....

Where can i get a replacement?......dont fancy riding too far in case it comes loose

Thing is im a noob and would never have known if it wasnt for the fact that I was trawling the web looking at vids on youtube on replacing the pads....only when i checked did i notice

well bugged

Comments

• peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    If they left it off, take the bike back and get them to fit one for you
  • rtorbs
    peter413 wrote:
    If they left it off, take the bike back and get them to fit one for you

Yeah will do but its been a week.....ive been working away so kinda feel like its been too long...plus im not driving at the mo, and it isint exactly local for a LBS.....my local shop refused to touch and i quote ....." that Halfords piece of crap" lol....its a boardman HT pro in case your wondering!!
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    is it just an R clip?

like this
    img3054v.jpg

try a RC car shop or a car repair shop.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • rtorbs
    nicklouse wrote:
    is it just an R clip?

Yeah thats the bad boy....will do that instead....bit of a trek for something that prob costs 5p

Alternatively was gonna snip the ends of my womens hair clip/bobby pin to see if that would work?

Cheers though pal...theres a shop down road :)
  • Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537