First Marathon Questions - Selkirk

butcher of bakersfield
butcher of bakersfield Posts: 1,233
edited February 2011 in XC and Enduro
First of all, apologies for another Selkirk topic. I don't want to hijack anyone else's.

I've never done any marathons before, or MTB events of any kind. So naturally I have a few questions..

My thinking at the moment, is of doing the 100k. Now, I have to point out that I've barely been out on the bike all winter, being over 30 age is not on my side, I smoke way too much, and the last time I probably would have considered myself 'fit' - and I'm not talking triathlon fit! - was at least 5 years ago.

So is the 100k likely to kill me, or is it just a case of slugging it out? Too much? The general idea is that by booking up now, it should hopefully give me the motivation to get fit again and I'll be in much better shape come the day. That's the idea...

Also, how much time do I have to book up for this?

I've had a look at the site and it's all a bit confusing. The tickets seem to be labeled for loads of different categories, or classes, and I've no idea what I'm buying to be honest?

And in the case of camping. If I got a Sunday ticket, would that allow me to camp on the Saturday night, or would I need a weekend ticket?

Cheers

Comments

• Book yourself in for the 50km or 75km route - you can always upgrade on the day or even half way round the route if you're feeling fit. Alternatively, book yourself in for the 100km route and, if you're feeling knackered halfway round, you can always drop to the 50km/75km (there are cut-off points where the route breaks for the different distances, but generally all distances follow the same route in the early stages).