Alpe d'Huez region & general travelling advice

saunaboy
saunaboy Posts: 116
edited February 2011 in Road beginners
Hi all,

Not sure whether this is the right forum but since I'm a beginner I can't think of anywhere better!

Me & the Mrs are off to Switzerland in August on first holiday with bikes. Taking the ferry from Newcastle to Holland, then getting train from there via Basel. Spending a week in Geneva with mates & using that as a base.

Apart from some rides in the Geneva area (Alps & Jura mountains are within easy reach) we plan to get the train to Grenobleduring the holiday to tackle the Alpe d'Huez. The thing I need to get some advice on is general travel & accomodation round those parts.

1) can we stay in Grenoble & get to the Alpe easily enough? Or do we need to stay closer? Our usual weekend runs are 60-70 miles.

2) What's accomodation like round there in summer, should I be booking now?

3) What's the general deal with hotels? Are they ok with people staying with bikes? I'm guessing they're used to it round those parts.

4) Trains - can you take a whole bike on there or will we have to dismantle them again from Geneva?

5) What's biking like on the roads there? Nutters, English-type resentment of everything on two wheels or is it the paradise that it looks?

Ideally, if anyone can recommend a place to stay & flag up any potential spanners in the works I'd be very grateful.

Thnaks very much!!!

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    All I can answer is number 5.

Yes, it's the paradise that it looks.
  • I'd stay a bit closer than Grenoble if I were you - it's a bit of a trek from there. I've stayed in a village called Vizille (Hotel Sanda, very basic, but nice and cheap), which is quite pretty and about 25k from the Alpe (from memory) along a valley. You could stay nearer still, maybe in La Rochetaillee, which is very nice.