Total newbie checking in

the_spooks
the_spooks Posts: 190
edited February 2011 in MTB beginners
Unsure if im having a midlife crisis or what :D but a few weeks ago bought myself a Revolution Triad 2 to basically get fit, have a good laugh and generally fall off.
Problem I am having so far is I have never owned a bike so taking it easy on cycle paths etc but plan on using it as its supposed to be used.
Any tips I can glean from ya'all will be appreciated.

Comments

• Welcome to the madhouse!

Stick around, you'll pick it all up easy enough!
  • if you want to build up your skills for mtb riding then you can get a lot out of the features on this website. There are companies around, like ours, that will gladly sell you beginner courses and training definitely makes a big impact. But you don't have to spend money if you don't want to - we wrote a load of features for this site and for What Mountain Bike magazine and they're all available online.
    If you need any help finding them just let me know and i'll dig up the links.
    Best if luck,
    Chris@CycleActive
  • tenfoot
    tenfoot Posts: 226
    Probably the best thing is to build up slowly, which it sounds like is what you are doing, and feel your way around the bike, and just build your confidence.

Once you're confident enough to come off cycle paths, if you have any local woods or footpaths give them a go and feel how the bike and you react to different surface conditions, obstacles like tree roots etc. Remember shifting your weight around can help massively, especially when going downhill. Shifting weight to the back of the bike will stop you shooting over the bars, and will also go some way to stopping the back wheel from locking up under heavy braking.

Enjoy yourself. I've been cycling all my life and can't ever see a time when I don't want to. I