Newbie, advie please :)

andybrad
andybrad Posts: 92
edited February 2011 in Commuting chat
Hello there folks im quite new to all this so please me gentile.

I’ve decided (as im sure many have at this time of year) to get fitter. One of the ways im intending to do this is cycle to work. Nowthen i tried this last year a few times on my old bike and enjoyed it. But i just started at the end of October so i got a couple of weeks before it got too rainy. I was using a Saracen back trax but it turns out it was a 21” frame. Me being just about 5’6” felt very uncomfortable on this so ive picked up a GT zum S2 at the weekend. (anyone want the old Saracen?) this fits me much better but ive got a few questions.

Firstly its come with cable disc brakes. Having never had discs before i was looking forward to super doper braking power. It turns out that there not much better than the v brakes i had before. Should i replace them with something else(bit short of cash tbh), or is there something i can do to make them better? There shimano alivio leavers with integrated shifters and quad qmb-5 brakes. I cant find much info on them.

Secondly ive just been reading about the dp17 rims its got. A couple of reviews seem to say they are deathtraps! Should i be changing them or are they alright?

Its got some stange valves on the wheels. There not like the standard car valves ive had before. Can i swap them? Can i get an adaptor for my pump?

The boss at work has invited me on a bike ride beginning of may. Ive said yes but don’t know what im letting myself in for. Its round Columbia park (Nottingham i think) and 17 miles (far far further than anything ive done before. ) however there all mountain biking nutters with full suspension carbon bits and such. Soo can i use the bike round there with a change of rubber? Or am i risking life and limb?

Its cold outside should i try and bike to work tomorrow or wait till its warmed up :)

Sorry for the daft questions 

Comments

• mudcow007