To build or not to build?

lucasf09
lucasf09 Posts: 160
edited January 2011 in Road beginners
Hi,
I am relatively new to road cycling, although I have cycling most of my life for school, getting round, etc.
I bought a raleigh bike second hand with shimano 3300 drivetrain, but quite bad tektro brakes (which have already caused an accident!). The bike as a whole weighs a claimed 12kg from the previous owner (I haven't checked, but it seems about right), and I upgraded the caged pedals to speedplay zeros (please no comment on the brand, I got them before I was aware of the whole mess)
Now I am hoping to save up a bit more money, and will be looking at spending around the grand mark, but might be a bit less depending on how selling my PC goes.
Anyway, my question is, for this kind of money, is it cheaper to build my own bike or to buy a complete bike?
I could use some things of the raleigh to save money, but would like to upgrade the frame (a chromoly one), and wheels or groupset (as budget won't allow me to upgrade both)
I have been looking at Kinesis framesets that seem quite cheap, but cannot find many reviews (good or bad) of them.
Also is carbon as brittle as people make out? I have seen some cheap carbon frames on ebay, and halfords have good deal on their boardmans, but afraid that staring at them will crack them.
Thanks for any help

Comments

• Pross
    Pross Posts: 40,480