Fear!!

DanielleT
DanielleT Posts: 259
edited February 2012 in Women
Hi Girls,

Not been on here for a longtime, password problems etc!

Anyhows just thought i'd start a thread on fear and nerves and how you all manage yours and any advice you'd give?

I've been riding XC for a couple of years now and got in to DH at the end of 2009. I've ridden at Wharncliffe, Cwmcarn, Moelfre, Innerleithen, Cannock Chase, Stainburn and went to Morzine for a week back in July. Everything was going really well until I had a couple of nasty stacks, one at Cwmcarn on the slab from the road when some idiot taking photos stepped out in front of me as i'd set off down it, another at Dalby ending up with a cracked lid and concussion and then a couple of stacks in Morzine, no real injuries but badly shaken nerves and a interesting scar on my inner thigh from tyre burn! I also saw one of my friends snap his shin bone landing off a drop at Cannock too. So now when I go out to do DH i'm a bag of nerves and really struggle to get myself down tracks that I was confident on before. I can't turn off the 'what if' and the pictures of my friends leg bending in half.

Has anyone else had a similar experience or have any advice to get over the fear? I just want to get back on my bike and enjoy it again rather than worry myself sick!

Cheers :oops:
delightfully dangerous!

Comments

• welshkev
    welshkev Posts: 9,690
    hi there, i know i'm not a girl but i'm that bored in work i'm browsing all the forums :lol:

i knocked myself out at the forest of dean on the XC route of all places!!!!!! it shook me up pretty badly and it took me quite a while to get back up to speed again. i still don't think i'm hitting stuff as big as i was before though :?

all i can say is, take your time, go at your own speed and slowly build back up your confidence.

although i did go to one of my local tracks and hit a 4ft drop off the week after just to prove i could still do it :lol: