Lateral Collateral ligament pain

Eyon
Eyon Posts: 623
edited January 2011 in Health, fitness & training
Hi All,

Long story here, so bear with me.

I started riding about 4 months ago, cycled on a hardtail bike with small platform flats (bike was given to me, not the greatest gear on it) for 2 1/2 months before getting my Anthem a while ago. to treat my new bike, I bought some Shimano M540's and some Shimano M076 shoes. Great I thought, being clipped in feels nice when riding, a lot more controlled.

However, after covering about 20-30 miles clipped in, I started to get pain in the outside of my right knee, which I read into being my Lateral Collateral Ligament (LCL). Now when i was on my flats knee issue wasnt the issue for me, I simply didnt do the miles to start out with to worry about them, but with the Anthem I've started 25+ mile rides at higher speeds.

So I assumed it was my Shimano pedals as they are quite restricting, limiting me to maybe 5 or 6 miles before the pain was too much to carry on, and limiting my knee movement for a few days after. A quick re-align of the pedals I managed to get a few more miles out of my knee before it started playing up. So, I gave up on the Shimano pedals and got some Time Freeride pedals, more float, larger supporting platform, and It has improved matters, I did 24 miles the other day and recently did another 20, but still with a lot of pain near the end.

So, I've redone my bikes fitting, so now its brilliant, everything lines up and I spent a lot of time getting it right, leg is extending the correct amount, knee over spindle etc etc. But still not much an improvement.

So after all this the daunting fact of having to return to flats looked the most likely thing, sadly as i do prefer to ride clipped in. However, today in the gym i thought I'd crack a few miles out on the bike as I havent managed to get out recently, and even with a normal exersise bike after 15 mins my right knee was playing up.