Post-ride headaches - Update!

pottssteve
pottssteve Posts: 4,069
edited January 2011 in Road beginners
Hi,

I've been riding for a couple of years now and have noticed that when I ride anything over about 50km I tend to get a headache. This often comes on several hours after I've got home. I don't think it's weather-related as it's happened in all conditions. I also don't think it's dehydration as I regularly get home needing to pee, so I think I'm drinking enough. Could it be low blood sugar? I usually eat a banana before I ride and then have a decent meal when I get home. Any ideas or advice appreciated.

Many thanks,
Steve
Head Hands Heart Lungs Legs

Comments

• Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    Even if you pee when you get home, you can still be somewhat dehydrated.

Do you drink during and after you ride? One way to make sure you drink enough is to weigh yourself before and after a ride. If your weight goes down after - you need to top up with fluids.

This is just one possible explanation, of course.
  • Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    What colour is your pee after the ride?
    Ben

Bikes: Donhou DSS4 Custom | Condor Italia RC | Gios Megalite | Dolan Preffisio | Giant Bowery '76
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ben_h_ppcc/
    Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/143173475@N05/
  • pottssteve
    Hi Guys,

Yes, I do drink, regularly, during my ride. Today I rode 45km in 2 hours and drank about 700ml of water. The air temp. was between 0 and -2 degrees but I was sweating when I got home. However, no headache. In Hong Kong I would often drink 1.5 - 2 litres in 2 hour's riding. My pee is generally pale when I get home....
  • Ben6899
    Ben6899 Posts: 9,686
    Pale generally means you're not dehydrated. I'd be tempted to see your GP for blood tests.
    Ben

Bikes: Donhou DSS4 Custom | Condor Italia RC | Gios Megalite | Dolan Preffisio | Giant Bowery '76
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ben_h_ppcc/