Front forks problem?

mark_jwedge
mark_jwedge Posts: 30
edited December 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, I am very new to mountain biking so sorry if this seems like a silly question.

I bought a GT Aggressor XC2 in September and it came fitted with Suntour XCR 120mm travel front fork with hydraulic rebound damping and lockout. Due to injury I have only been out on it about four times (2x15 miles or so of the trails at Cannock chase and 2x visits to the forest of dean again about 15 miles XC each time). When I was riding around the forest of dean yesterday the forks begain getting very stiff with reduced travel until they were completely rigid, this was the same no matter where I had the lock out leaver set to. I ended my ride there and washed the bike and brought it home. When I got it home i turned the pre-load dial on the fork fully towards the minus (-) setting and tried the forks again and they had travel again and although stiff in their travel were not rigid? Any ideas what could have happened?

Thanks

Mark

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Cold and the oil thickened?
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Thanks for the suggestions guys, could have been the temperature. It was 4 degrees according to the car when I got there, plus there was still some thick Ice on the car park and first section of the trail.
  • leaflite
    leaflite Posts: 1,651
    I used to have those forks, and I did have a few problems with them siezing. I found that if you keep on riding after a few minutes they go back to normal.