Fitting Michelin Krylion Carbon tyres

SCHeckled
SCHeckled Posts: 53
edited December 2010 in Workshop
Please help!!
In the process of replacing the Schwalbe Ultremo's fitted to my 2010 Cube Agree GTC Race with Michelin Krylion carbon 700x23c tyres in the hope of picking up fewer punctures.
I'm pretty new to this road bike thing so please humour my ignorance on the matter, but I always found the Ultremo's a bit of a pig to get on or off but always managed it with a couple of plastic tyre levers - the Michelins on the other hand are near on impossible, after breaking 2 plastic tyre levers I had to use a couple of spoons from the cutlery draw to finally get one on but managed to pinch the tube in the process. I'm now a bit scared that if I do finally get them on and inflated, what the hell will I do if I get a puncture 20 miles from home (probably with no spoons!).

Any help and advice gratefully received, and apologies once again for my ignorance. :)

Tim
Lapierre Zesty 714
Transition Covert 29
On One 456C
Cube agree GTC Race

Comments

• seanoconn
    seanoconn Posts: 11,318
    Yeah they can be a bit awkward but you get the hang of it in the end. When i first bought some krylions i had to put one tyre on 3 times as i didn't fix the inner tube properly then pinched it second time round. They do loosen up once they've been on the wheel so don't give up. A couple of hours effort and swearing is worth it in the long run. I've had mine on a year and not had a you know what yet, touch wood!
    Pinno, מלך אידיוט וחרא מכונאי
  • Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    :?

Never had any problems with mine
  • Tom Butcher
    Tom Butcher Posts: 3,830
    They are quite tight with some rims but should be doable without resorting to spoons. I always find it helps to roll the tyre on pulling it towards me - it really is a matter of practice and correct technique. Agree that refitting should be easier than first fitting though so if you do puncture you should be OK.