Seat height

fixiebob
fixiebob Posts: 222
edited December 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi all I'm fairly new to mountain biking being a roady and triathlete.
I am doing trails in the winter months for training and really enjoying it but am not sure about bike set up should I have my seat height the same as my road bike or lower for more control.

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Whatever feels best to you! I would start at the same pedal to saddle height, you can always drop it a little if needs be. MTBers have all sorts of different heights.
  • LjStronge
    LjStronge Posts: 287
    It is down to rider preference as Supersonic says, they are loads of Articles on the net about what is the "right " height and how to maximise pedalling efficency blah blah blah.

For me - I start with it quite high while I'm on my way to the trails and then just drop it down when I start doing the down hill trails.

I never have a specific height I always put it at, I just drop it and sit on it and if it feels right then for me it's spot on.

Just remember that if you start taking decent steep drop offs or similar you will need to start getting your backside over the back of the bike and a lower saddle will help you do that
    Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2009.
  • fixiebob
    Thanks to you both I have a second hand Rockhopper Comp I will see if I can get a quick release for seat post so I can change it easy.
  • A quick release for your seat is really important as you will be moving it far more often than on your road bikes.
    I stick my seat up into the optimum pedaling position if there is a long climb or fire road section ahead, drop it a couple of inches for levelish trail sections where I am in and out of the saddle and drop it even lower for long downhill sections. Not too low though, you don't want to slam too hard on it if you slip a pedal!
  • fixiebob
    Just need to find somewhere to get a 30.9 quick release seatpost clamp now :(
  • supersonic