FAQ: increasing your base endurance/etc

Comments

• Sue Wass
    Sue Wass Posts: 29
    I can see I'm going to have to spend a bit of time having a good read through this thread!

I've been commuting for about 4 years a distance of about 3 miles each way (please don't laugh, I thought I was doing really well :roll: ) as part of my fitness training for the my main sporting hobby (motorcycles both on and off road);

Recently I bought my first road race bike (from Edingburgh cycles) the longest ride on that was 20 miles and I averaged 12.5 MPH.

so I clearly have lots and lots of training to do!
    I could say it's problematic fitting it all in, but after having read in C+ about the lady in the team who has 4 young children and fits in lots of training - well out go all the excuses.
  • Moomaloid
    Moomaloid Posts: 2,040
    i'm back on my bike for the first time in about 6 or 7 years. Started commuting to work over the past cpl of months. About 20 miles a day from one side of london to the other. Never realised how awful the roads are! plus traffic lights are a nightmare.

I'm looking to build on my base fitness before i try a training programme. Would most of you suggest just adding to the mileage as a starter??

Also i'm not really enjoying riding in london. Forever having to stop at lights doesn't allow you to get a good rhythm. Any recommendations on rides in or out of the city?
  • bianchi77
    bianchi77 Posts: 63
    Nice climbing tips...

Anyway is there any more links for a climbing tips ?
    Viva Cycling forever !
    Train Hard, Rest harder

Thanks,
    Regards
    http://www.rickoshop.com/
  • boybiker
    boybiker Posts: 531
    Ohhhh its all confusing,

I always drink lots of water 'cos that seems like the right thing to do, and I always, or nearly always stand up when climbing hills as do most of the people I go out with on club runs, I find I am improving on the climbs so I dunno what to think now. :? :?
    The gear changing, helmet wearing fule.