Newbie - looking to do a tour

gluttonforpunishment
edited December 2010 in Tour & expedition
Hi there

I really hate to bother you guys (as you must get this all of the time), me and a few mates are going to seriously looking into doing a cycling tour this summer. We will be raising money for charity. That is the official reason why we are going.

We will be new to this type of thing. 2 of the guys we have going will be considered unfit (well at this stage), and 2 of the guys will be thought of as reasonably fit. The other 3 guys are triathlon athletes so they should find it quite easy in comparison. All of us are about 25-30.

We are however complete novices on this sort of thing. We have a rough idea of going from London to either Cadiz in Spain or to Rome. We wouldn't be fussed about the time frame, just as long as we get there and can get the train back within 3/3.5 weeks. We will look for previous threads where possible on things like routes and stuff. I know it must be a pain for you serious posters to read this sort of thing.

Can anyone advise us on a few things such as:
1. Budget (how much we could be looking at having to fork out on kit and expenses).
2. Preparation (if we need a lot of training or if you can get by as long as you are not restraint by time)
3. What we need to consider

If people can help me out here you will have my greatest gratitude.

Cheers

Dave

Comments

• rc856
    rc856 Posts: 1,144
    Hi Dave and welcome to the forum :)
    Haven't done a tour myself but to get some answers on the go....

With regards to your budget, it depends on if everyone has a bike capable of lasting the trip?
    Assuming you have bikes, have you got adequate clothing? Maybe the triathletes in your group have a fair idea about this?
    It should be easy enough to get a cost for your train tickets. Where are you staying?
    Hostel? Campsite?