Miller Dynamo and a LED?

Captain Turok
Captain Turok Posts: 686
edited November 2010 in Road general
I have a Miller dynamo stamped "Miller made in England, 6 volt, 3.24 watt, model 53R" on the dynamo and "Miller made in England 598" on the lamp. 1693rxh.jpg I've been using this for a couple of months as a secondary light, but annoyingly its blown a fair few bulbs.

My question is would converting it to run an LED bulb solve this? I had in mind simply soldering an LED onto +/- wires and making a holder for the LED in the existing lamp body.

Although before butchering the the lamp body I thought I'd ask if this is possible and what LED should I be looking for?

Can any one help?..
*Rock Lobster Team Tig SL (22lb 14oz)
*C. Late 1950's Fixed Gear
*1940 Raleigh Dawn Tourist with rod brakes

Comments

• lae
    lae Posts: 555
    The problem is that the rear bulb is only rated 0.6w, and it's a 3w dynamo! It's designed to use a 2.4w front bulb and a 0.6w rear, so by either a)attaching a front 2.4w light, or b)using a 3w rear bulb, it should stop blowing (and if you attach a 3w rear bulb it'll be a hell of a lot brighter too).

But anyway, if you wanna go for LEDs, I've been thinking about it lately too:

There's a few ways of doing it, depending on how much work you wanna put into it. FYI there's no negative wire, they just use the frame as the ground.

Simply plugging a 3w LED into it will work, but because bicycle dynamos (unlike true dynamos) put out AC instead of DC (as in, alternating current, the current goes positive-negative then negative-positive), the LED will flicker very annoyingly at low speeds (because LEDs, like all diodes, only allow current to pass in one direction). A couple of big 3000uF capacitors (found in an old computer motherboard, for example) wired in series should smooth out the worst of the flickering and provide illumination for a minute or so after stopping.