Advice on climbing out of the saddle

badhorsy
badhorsy Posts: 107
edited November 2010 in Road beginners
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to cycling - got my first road bike a couple of months back.
I've recently started attempting a few decent sized hills on my commute, and I've found the need to (try to) get out of the saddle at some points.
Just wanted some advice though, based on a couple things I've noticed. I have a triple chainring (Specialized Secteur Elite 2010), and I usually cycle on the middle chainring. I've found that when out of the saddle, I have to switch to the highest chainring, and usually the top couple of gears otherwise the pedals go round to easily (I'm 200 pounds). Is this right?

I'm also not sure if I'm just not moving my weight forward enough, but on every pedal rotation I seem to be hitting the back of my ass off the tip of my saddle... maybe this is just poor technique though. Occasionally, the bike moves from side to side so much that at the bottom of my pedal stroke, the pedal scrapes the ground...

Any advice would be awesome!

Comments

• pottssteve
    pottssteve Posts: 4,069
    badhorsy,

I also ride a triple and one of the benefits is that you rarely have to get out of the saddle.
    I weigh a little less than you but find that staying in the saddle and in a lower gear helps for me; if I stand up it's usually for short sections.

It's right that you would need to be in a higher gear to stand whilst climbing. You are putting more force through the pedals. However, if you run out of strength halfway up a hill and have to sit down again you would have to start fiddling around changing down again. Your description of the bike moving a lot from side to side, and your arse hitting the saddle suggests that you are climbing in too high a gear and are having to exert a lot of force to turn the pedals, resulting in poor technique. The pedals should not hit the ground.