Wheels That Cut Through The Wind

stevepeter83
stevepeter83 Posts: 17
edited November 2010 in Road beginners
Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy a pair of wheels that will cut through the wind and support climbing well.

Any suggestions?

Also, I'm very new to wheels so what's really the difference between the depth of wheels? Are deeper wheels cut through wind better?

The path that I'm going through daily is pretty windy (Perth bike path) especially after work and then I have a little bit of climbs near my house.

Any suggestions on wheels? What about tubular, carbon fibre, tubeless, etc? Will they help me?

Thanks for your help,
Steve

Comments

• SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    I think your body has a greater effect on wind resistance than a wheel. If you want a deep section wheel, then they will be a bit more aero, but not massively noticeable, and if the wind comes from the side, you can get buffeted all over the place depending how deep the wheel is.

They are likely to be heavier than a box section wheel as well, so may not help so much with hills.

If you live in a windy place with hills, I would go for a lightweight box section wheel rather than a deep section wheel.
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    SBezza wrote:
    I think your body has a greater effect on wind resistance than a wheel. If you want a deep section wheel, then they will be a bit more aero, but not massively noticeable, and if the wind comes from the side, you can get buffeted all over the place depending how deep the wheel is.

They are likely to be heavier than a box section wheel as well, so may not help so much with hills.

If you live in a windy place with hills, I would go for a lightweight box section wheel rather than a deep section wheel.

Plus 1 - hilly and windy where I am so deep section wheels not much use. Budget is key but I like my Campagnolo Neutrons for climbyness.
    Faster than a tent.......
  • balthazar
    balthazar Posts: 1,565