Mtb clothing when rideing?

tylerjames
tylerjames Posts: 56
edited November 2010 in MTB beginners
Just wondering wot you all find is best too wear when rideing in the wet and mud.ie rain jackets,footwear,shorts,trousers.
Went out on saturday and was coverd head too toe in mud (dam fun tho) and thout i wonder wot the exsperts wear.
Thanks Jack

Comments

• I'm not an expert, but... layers.

A pair of running shorts with a pair of baggies over the top. Legs dry faster than trousers so always shorts in the wet weather. If its really cold I might wear tights under the shorts too.

Baselayer top (or two for the days when its several degrees under) and fleece and/or waterproof, or whatever cotton t-shirt comes out the cupboard first.

Wear whatever you're comfortable in, being warm is more important than being dry. It all looks the same covered in mud anyway.
  • BigJimmyB
    BigJimmyB Posts: 1,302
    Top:

Merino Base layer
    Wicking cycle jersey
    Waterproof jacket

Add/remove as require

Gloves - Sealskinz waterproof & thermal

Bottom:
    Padded lyrca shorts under baggies
    Knee warmers
    Waterproof socks

Shoes - 5-10's
  • stubs
    stubs Posts: 5,001
    Avoid cotton like the plague when it gets wet it stays wet and makes you really cold. If you have a TK Maxx near you they sell cheap running and footy gear that works as well as cycle gear if you are on a budget.
    Fig rolls: proof that god loves cyclists and that she wants us to do another lap
  • Budgets my middle name mate. Ye theres 1 not far from me which is good. Have stretch base layer and fox moto x gloves. My feet were froze and soaked thru hich was the worse part. Is there such a thing as water proof socks?
    Cheers
  • stubs
    Sealskinz are waterproof but a bit pricey.
    http://www.sealskinz.com/

I prefer to wear proper woolen socks with silk liners you get wet feet but they stay warm and pong free.[/url]