Track bike on the road - complete newbie question

Yossie
Yossie Posts: 2,600
edited December 2010 in Road general
Morning All

Just a quick question:

Am currently running a Charge Plug alongside the road bikes that I love to bits so am fully addicted to single speeding.

Being a form over function obsessed man, I love the shape of pure track bikes and so was pondering about getting one, sorting a out front brake (ie fitting a set of road carbon forks with front brake, brake suitable rims) and running it on the road.

I understand that track bikes are very quick steering but was hoping that the slightly slower geometry of the road forks (a degree or two at the most probably) would slow the steering down from "oh my God I'm going to die" to good, fast, twitchy, which I like (time trial bike fast steering is ok in my book).

Questions are:

1. Is this a pointless and stupid idea and should I track down a suitably looking cool road frame and convert that (I have all the bits in the Big Box of Spares in the garage that I would need);

2. Can I run a Mavic Kyserium Elite rear wheel for those "I'm too tired to run a fixie" moments or is the hub spacing out? Plan is to eventually track down a set of deep rim wheels (probably Planet X 50s as I have some already) to use: purely form over function again.

3. Has this been done before and have the people who have done it before soon regretted it?

Any helpful comments would be very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Yossie

Comments

• Hub spacing is out on a pure track bike for the road wheels. Something like the Cinelli Mash(below) is a Vigorelli track bike in street clothes. Allegedly the fork is drilled and plugged so fitting a brake is a careful drill job.

R0013290%20lo.jpg
    Neil
    Help I'm Being Oppressed
  • Yossie
    Looking promising - ta muchly.

Can you get a flip flop track hub or again, hub spacing out?