HELP! RACING MEMBERSHIP

littleking02
littleking02 Posts: 132
edited November 2010 in Amateur race
I am buying a british cycling Gold license. I have few queries that I need answers for....

1, If i buy my license now, do I have to buy one again at the start of the year or does my license expire this time next year?

2, What is the difference between provisional (which is free), full license?

3, I am just beginning to racing, is too much to get the Gold license? should I just be happy with Silver license?

thank you.
ITS BY DOING WHAT EVER, THAT YOU BECOME WHOEVER!

Comments

• Apart from cyclo-cross (and even then there are exceptions like the National Champs & National Trophy) and a few closed-circuit road events, the provisional licence doesn't allow entry to competitive races and you'd need to buy a day licence at the event. These conditions only apply to events run under BC auspices though, and you don't need a licence for time trials (in England at least - think the rules may be different in the rest of the UK) as they are under the jurisdiction of Cycling Time Trials (CTT); the only condition for those is that you generally have to be in a CTT-affiliated club.

Not sure about the Gold/Silver distinction - think Gold comes with a superior personal insurance plan and more BC freebies.

David
    "It is not enough merely to win; others must lose." - Gore Vidal
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    1, If i buy my license now, do I have to buy one again at the start of the year or does my license expire this time next year?
    - Membership to British Cycling lasts 12 months from when you first start it.
    - A racing licence is an additional amount that lasts a calendar year (actually 1st Dec - 30th Nov now to cover Winter Road Racing Leagues at Hillingdon and Hog Hill)
    2, What is the difference between provisional (which is free), full license?