I'm new to bike racing, whats the difference between XC DH

D4V1D
D4V1D Posts: 233
edited September 2012 in MTB beginners
I cycle to work 3 out of 5 days most weeks and it's crossed my mind to do a bit of mountain bike racing, but I don't know where to start. Or where to go.

I've read about 12 hour races and that seems to spark an interest. Are there any clubs in North Shropshire for mountain bike racing, were only a stones throw from North Wales.

Thanks very much for you help.
I'm not a racer, but I like to churn out 2-3hr rides,
I love Cannock and Llandegla cycle parks.
Cube Acid 2010
Upgraded RockShox Reba RL Forks, twin air.
Updrade RockShox dropper seat post.
Went tubeless DIY style using a 20" BMX tube. Lasting well.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    about 100mm of travel and 10 kg.

eg
    XC a fully and an HT
    pbpic3035453.jpg
    pbpic3093894.jpg

and for DH
    pbpic3035449.jpg
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • D4V1D
    I take it the silver bike is for HT, what type of sport is that?. It looks like it has only one gear speed.
    Cube Acid 2010
  • thel33ter
    thel33ter Posts: 2,684
    HT stands for hard tail - as in no rear suspension.

And singlespeed is a silly faddy thing for people who are either trying to look cool or really fast.

Sounds like you would be best doing XC racing, which is basically like road racing, but without the road. DH - downhill is basically going crazy fast down a big hill/cliff.

Like so http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DwTkaLD-rPU
    And now you know, and knowing is half the battle
    05 Spesh Enduro Expert
    05 Trek 1000 Custom build
    Speedily Singular Thingy
  • D4V1D
    My bike isn't a road racing bike it's like the silver bike but without the front suspension. I was thinking of buying a bike as a race bike, is XC like single track racing?.