What do I need to consider in choosing a singlespeed bike?

Keiron Curtis
Keiron Curtis Posts: 126
edited November 2010 in Commuting general
Though I've been commuting for well over 4 years, I'm not very well up on bicycle terminology etc.. For the last 3 weeks I've stuck to one gear on my 21 speed Subway LTD, and I've enjoyed it. It's refreshed my attitude to my 40 mile roundtrip commute, I prefer not to have the hassle of changing gears, which I mostly mistimed and got wrong anyway. So what must I consider when deciding which singlespeed bike to get?
k.curtis

Comments

• cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    I don't have a SS, but the size of the gearing's one consideration. What gear do you ride now?

Also, do you want a fixed gear or a SS with a flip-flop hub?
    FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
    "It stays down, Daddy."
    "Exactly."
  • thel33ter
    thel33ter Posts: 2,684
    How stylish it looks :lol:

Basically wheels, frameset and cranks are the most important, the rest is easily replacable/upgradeable.
    And now you know, and knowing is half the battle
    05 Spesh Enduro Expert
    05 Trek 1000 Custom build
    Speedily Singular Thingy
  • Zachariah
    Zachariah Posts: 782
    You look out for the same things you would as with any other bike. But without spending several hours agonising over makes and models of derailleurs.
  • kieranb
    kieranb Posts: 1,674
    why not just get a conversion kit and convert your current bike to a SS, then you can always revert back if you wish.
  • The Rookie
    The Rookie Posts: 27,812
    If you get a bike on 700C wheels, remember you'll need t drop the gearing slightly due to the larger wheels!

Simon
    Currently riding a Whyte T130C, X0 drivetrain, Magura Trail brakes converted to mixed wheel size (homebuilt wheels) with 140mm Fox 34 Rhythm and RP23 suspension. 12.2Kg.
  • tywin1
    tywin1 Posts: 7