how often?

gjw2309
gjw2309 Posts: 33
edited November 2010 in Road beginners
just a simple question here from a beginner

how often do need to change your chain?, as i have been told by my lbs that my new chain is worn already i have only done about 350miles. is this normal?

i am not just muscling through the gears i am spinning away are there any other things which could've caused this/what should i do in the future to avoid this happening again?

When replacing the chain is there much difference between the different models?. it is a 105 groupset i have currently fitted to the bike

any help greatly appreciated thanks

Gary

Comments

• I've had mine over 12 months and done a few thousand miles, just had it serviced and is a 105 groupset.

Sounds as though there may be a fault from new if it is worn to that extent already?

I'm no expert but going off my own experience something doesn't sound right about your problem mate.
  • dmch2
    dmch2 Posts: 731
    i've just cleaned and measured mine. When new you get 12" between 24 links.

After 450 miles it's now at more than 12 1/64 but not as much as 12 1/32. So slightly worn.

Once it gets to 12 1/16 it needs changing so i've got a while yet.

I was reckoning on 1000 miles, I expect the wear rate will accelerate a bit so that seems a reasonable estimate.

It'll wear faster if it's dirty, faster still if dirty and greasy. So keep it clean (LOADS of topics and arguments on this). I rinse in gt85 every 50-100 miles (after every ride when it's been raining or puddling), wipe, dry lube, wipe again.

Once it wears much past 12 1/16 the cassette will rapidly wear, by 12 1/8 the cassette is probably toast.

So my guess is either your chain was very dirty and grinding itself to bits or was a rubbish chain or have you been running with a crossed chain or badly adjusted mechs?
    2010 Trek 1.5 Road - swissstop green, conti GP4000S
    2004 Marin Muirwoods Hybrid
  • gjw2309
    gjw2309 Posts: 33