Chain cleaning

paulus69
paulus69 Posts: 160
edited November 2010 in The workshop
I am kind of winging it with looking after my bike, I do have a question about cleaning the chain on my bike.

After each ride I give the bike a quick wash and a squirt with GT85 (i prefer the smell of it to wd40)

About once a week I give the chain a rub with a cloth and some heavier wet lube

I plan on about each six weeks degresing the chain with come petrol and a little nyon brush and then drying i completly and relubing it

Am I on the right track? I don't use one of those spinny gadgets as they are the price of a new chain and I love the smell of the alternative (petrol)
Me on Strava
My cycling blog
Specialized Secteur 2012 / Carrera Vulcan v-spec

Comments

• sc999cs
    sc999cs Posts: 596
    I'm not an expert on chain cleaning - I use a chain cleaning tool and citrus chain cleaning degreaser. However I know that you must not use WD40 because it strips the internal lubes from the chain. I don't know if GT85 has a similar effect. I'm sure Nicklouse will be able to answer your question properly but in the meanwhile try reading this for advice.
    Steve C
  • gbsahne001
    gbsahne001 Posts: 1,973
    GT85 has almost the same effect as WD-40 but it does leave some lubricating residue; not enough though; after a wet ride, I'll spray with GT, wipe off and then relube.
  • msp1
    msp1 Posts: 59
    I bought some Power Links http://www.evanscycles.com/products/sram/powerlink-gold-chain-connector-9-speed-ec008054 and a chain splitter. Take the chain off after every serious ride and put it in a plastic bottle with some white spirit and give it a good shake. Chain comes up like new. Dry it off then soke in GT85 for a while before wiping off excess and refitting chain. Still in the honeymoon stage with my Zesty :D
  • paulus69
    msp1 wrote: