Would like to try a TT

Clarebunny
Clarebunny Posts: 64
edited November 2010 in Amateur race
I do quite a lot of riding (for a lass!) and would like a little advice! Firstly, what's the best way to find a loacl TT- and do they do different distances?

I'd really like to try a time trial but dont want to make an ar*e of myself! Are there amateur or first time specific TT?
~I like to bike~

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    Are you a member of a club?.

Many clubs run club TT's, many on a "try it" basis, have a look at a local clubs website, a club TT would be an ideal way to start IMO.

To do open events, you need to be a member of a club.

Check the CTT website, tons of info and also an event calendar.
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Best thing for a complete novice is to try a local club evening TT (usually 10 milers). Unfortunately, there are unlikely to be any of these until April now when the lighter evenings return. There is almost certainly a club local to you that organise a summer series, so maybe have a search on the club finder on Cycling Time Trials or British Cycling websites and contact the club secretarys. Or if you tell us what area you live, someone will be able to recommend a club to try.

The other option are "open events" which you have to enter in advance, but these are a bit more serious, although there is no reason why you couldn't enter one (although you do need to be a member of a CTT affiliated club first). Once again, most of the racing is over now until March however.
  • Pross
    Pross Posts: 40,217