New To Road Biking

BridlingtonBiker
BridlingtonBiker Posts: 152
edited October 2010 in Road beginners
Hi all I've had a cheap mountain bike for about 6 years or so and this year I've been doing more riding than ever before. It dawned on me in summer I do practically all my riding on the road and what little off road riding I do could be done on my mountain bike. I've therefore been looking at getting a road bike for the past couple of months.

I must admit after reading a few magazines and the internet the Boardman range get high praise (aside from their distributer). The questions are would this be a good starting point? Which model should I go for? How much should I spend? I'm not usually the type to impulse buy hence why I've been researching for a couple of months, so I would imagine I'd not want a £500 bike when a £800 bike could last me so much more use.

I've been into a few bike shops and I don't like the Sora shifting system. I'd therefore prefer something with Tiagra or 105 groupset. Should I consider other makes of groupset?

Cheers in advance

Comments

• father_jack
    father_jack Posts: 3,509
    I'd say £600-£800 bracket is a good first quality road bike area. Checkout Campagnolo and Sram groupsets too.

Or you could look into cyclocross, that way you have a roadie/off roader, not just a roadie. But since you have a mtb probably best to get a full roadie.

Boardmans have SRAM not Shmano.
    Say... That's a nice bike..
    Trax T700 with Lew Racing Pro VT-1 ;-)
  • dmch2
    dmch2 Posts: 731
    I like my tiagra trek 1.5 which i got as I didn't like sora either.

800 will be tight for a 2011 tiagra bike without getting a discount. I think the price for mine is almost 900 now so i was happy to get a discounted 2010 for 720.

Remember you'll need to buy at least some of the following too: