Best way to improve average speed

MarkS1980
MarkS1980 Posts: 49
Firstly, I'm a total beginner so please be gentle with me :wink::lol:

I used to cycle a lot when I was a kid but I hardly touched a bike since my late teens. Now I'm 29, bought myself a new bike and have just started commuting on it. I'm in fairly good shape but it's mostly from lifting weights so not really the right kind of fitness for cycling. I had been running a few times a week but had to stop a couple of months ago due to an old knee problem coming back so my cardio fitness isn't bad but could be better.
My commute is 12 miles per day. I have to ride one way one day and then return the next, 4 or 5 times per week. Last week was only my second week doing it but I feel like I'm going too slowly. My average speed is around 14mph. The route isn't anything too challenging. Some flat but quite a lot of gentle up or downhill sections and a few steeper climbs.
I know it's still early days but I feel like 14mph average is below what I should be doing so I'm looking for the best way to improve. Is it just a case of improving as I add more miles or can I ride in certain ways (like using a heartbeat monitor and zone training) to speed things up? I want to start adding a longer ride at the weekend but I can't really fit in anything over 2 hours at the moment.

My bike is a Decathlon Sport 1 with Marathon Plus tyres, I have to carry certain things with me so I probably have an extra 3-4lbs of weight plus I weigh around 200lbs and I can't really afford to lose much. The lowest I ever get to is 185lbs but even then I start looking to thin because I have a large frame. I know the extra weight from everything won't be helping but I know if I get fit enough it shouldn't make too much of a difference.

Comments

• jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    imo the biggest error you could make is trying to 'rush' things.
    You have mentioned extra miles on the bike and you have your ride to work so it is all to the good.