Quick Reba setup question

Skerryman
Skerryman Posts: 323
edited September 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
OK so I got my shock pump today. Just need a bit of info on setting up my Reba's now. Do I need to let all the air out of the positive and negative chambers first or can I just connect the pump, check pressure and release/ add air as necessary?

Also is there any precautions I should take before doing this?

Apologies for the questions but its my first time doing this and just want to make sure I don't feck it up.

Cheers for any info.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    have you read the info in the FAQs?

it tells you how to.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • OK just found it there. So if I turn the bike upside down while letting the air out of the negative chamber and then turn it right side up for letting the air out of the positive chamber I shouldn't lose loads of oil?? Just don't fancy having to take em apart to replace oil as I don't have a clue how to. If there's a sticky somewhere with these info feel free to let me know as I couldn't find it. Cheers
  • Skerryman wrote:
    OK just found it there. So if I turn the bike upside down while letting the air out of the negative chamber and then turn it right side up for letting the air out of the positive chamber I shouldn't lose loads of oil?? Just don't fancy having to take em apart to replace oil as I don't have a clue how to. If there's a sticky somewhere with these info feel free to let me know as I couldn't find it. Cheers

Good question, I read this and wondered exactly the same things as yourself. The guide is good, but lacks some essential detail.

:?:
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    You don't need to turn it upside down, but it can help with the neg air chamber. It is not damping oil, but lube oil. RS don't even say to do this.
  • ryan93
    ryan93 Posts: 186